• Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 637,009 Hits

This really makes sense

three-stooges-cast

When I think of Larry, Moe, and Curly, I obviously think Penn, Del Toro, and Carrey also. And I also think, “Gee, this slap-stick comedy could never get old, I wish I could watch it for 2 hours straight!” Well, awesome, because Hollywood is granting my wish, Variety reports:

Studio has set Sean Penn to play Larry, and negotiations are underway with Jim Carrey to play Curly, with the actor already making plans to gain 40 pounds to approximate the physical dimensions of Jerome “Curly” Howard.
The studio is zeroing in on Benicio Del Toro to play Moe.

The film is not a biopic, but rather a comedy built around the antics of the three characters that Moe Howard, Larry Fine and Howard played in the Columbia Pictures shorts.

I know how this is going to play out during filming:

SEAN PENN: How can we be doing this slap-stick shit when there’s people still suffering in New Orleans and gays persecuted in San Francisco, f-cking conservatives!
DEL TORO: Guys? Is that light? Oh Jesus that is light! We’re not in the jungle anymore! Thank god, I never thought Steven Soderbergh was going to free my chains! Please tell me somebody killed him…please…
JIM CARREY: Look! It’s my penis! Weeeeeeeeeee! Can I play the cable-guy again? Weeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

