• Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 635,755 Hits

Would you like to read an X4 script?

Unofficial, that is 🙂  I realized you readers really don’t get much of a chance to learn about the writers behind Angry Web, so here’s something I’d like to share that I know you guys will certainly enjoy.

My name is Eugene and I am a self-taught screenwriter.  I’ve been writing for about 3 years now, hoping to one day get that foot in the door with a breakthrough script that will blow producers’ minds away for once.  However, the only reason I began writing in the first place was thanks to the often frowned upon director known as Bret Ratner 😦

It’s been a little over a year since I finished writing “X4”, a follow-up to the abominable and unacceptable finale of a trilogy that we received as “X-Men: The Last Stand” and it’s at this point where I’ve decided to finally release it out there for fans to read.  Initially, when I wrote this, I had plans to take this baby of mine as far as I could, whether to Mr. Avi Arad at Marvel Studios or to the studio execs at Fox.  The bottom line was, I wanted to get this read by anyone on the inside.  So I wrote a 125-page screenplay along with a 2-page treatment, and shipped them off to Lauren Shuler Donner, Ralph Winter, and Zak Penn.  Weeks later, to no surprise, I received kind rejection letters from each of them mentioning that they did not accept unsolicited material.  I needed a professional agent, but the reality of it was, what kind of delusional agent would even consider buying an “X-Men 4” screenplay for a multimillion dollar comic book movie franchise where they could easily hire any other professional writer on the inside?  So I moved on to write original screenplays and that’s where I’m at to this present day.

I spent one summer reading through the entire X-Men wiki and various other graphic novels including Mutant Massacre, which the script’s storyline revolves around.   You’ll notice several canonical references to X-Men mythos including the Hellfire Club, Cameron Hodge, Herbert Wyndham (The High Evolutionary), as well as Gambit’s relations with Mr. Sinister.  Cameos include: Marrow, Longshot, Valerie Cooper, Forge, and many more.  As for that first scene at the Oxford University Museum of Natural History – Yes, those events actually transpired (minus Essex’s appearance, obviously) and some of the comments between a few of the characters were really exchanged.  Charles Darwin was, in fact, ill on the night of the assembly, but who knows…maybe he was secretly there after all 🙂

So without further adieu, here it is…X4

Leave a Reply

