• Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 636,689 Hits

“Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors” will make you a swinger

As an old school gamer that used to rock the old “Dragon Quest” games as a child, I dropped some cash on “Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors” for the Nintendo Wii. And by dropped some cash I mean I rented it from GameFly.

The first thing I noticed was that the whole game was controlled by the Wiimote (sans nunchuck). After getting used to the free roam play by holding the Wiimote upright, I ventured into my first combat area. I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

The game is extremely linear in the fact that you can’t explore the areas outside of your town. You walk like you are bound to a rail and swing your Wiimote at anything that pops on the screen. Imagine it as some sort of Disneyland attraction that you can ride in your underwear.

Mix some repetitive combat elements with some RPG elements and put them into a pot with a decent story featuring your run of the mill Japanese characters (like French girls dressed like prostitutes and a flamboyant prince). Mix well with your Wiimote and you have yourself “Dragon Quest Swords: The Masked Queen and the Tower of Mirrors”.

All in all, I actually enjoyed this game. It wasn’t anything cutting edge and the story wasn’t all that spectacular, but there was something about it that made me sit through it and finish it. I recommend it to anyone that wants to be an interactive swordsman assuming you can get past the sore wrist and the whole looking like a jackass thing.

Leave a Reply

